Back to Top
nurses bedside with patient

AACC’s nursing department enjoys an outstanding reputation. The nursing department’s vision is to enhance the health and well-being of the Anne Arundel County community by advancing the profession of nursing through education, scholarship and service.  As a community, the nursing faculty and students strive to promote excellence in the nursing profession.

The AACC nursing faculty consists of full- and part-time, caring and student-focused members. Our students practice simulated nursing skills in a college lab with state-of-the-art equipment and have continually exceeded national and state pass-rate averages.


Areas and Offerings

AACC offers nursing degrees and certificates for those pursuing a practical or registered nursing license.  

Learn more about our areas of study:

Nursing and Practical Nursing


Faculty and Staff

Program Director

Beth Batturs Martin, director
410-777-7352
babatturs@aacc.edu
FLRS-304A

Full-time Faculty

Ellen Asbury, assistant professor
410-777-7384
ANXA-106

Lyndele Bernard, professor
410-777-7083
lbbernard@aacc.edu
FLRS-330 

Myra Dennis, associate professor
410-777-7250
mgdennis@aacc.edu
FLRS-332

Susan Fox, professor/coordinator of nursing
410-777-7091
smfox1@aacc.edu
FLRS-304B 

Karin (Traci) Haynie, assistant professor
410-777-7388
khaynie@aacc.edu
FLRS-334 

Ashley Hernandez, assitant professor
410-777-7089
ANXA-105

Cathy Jo Jones, associate professor
410-777-7282
cjones3@aacc.edu
FLRS-332 

Maureen Kinsella, associate professor
410-777-7238
mmkinsella@aacc.edu
ANXA-106 

Denise Lyons, assistant professor
410-777-7237
dmlyons@aacc.edu
FLRS-330 

Joann Oliver, associate professor
410-777-7090
jmoliver@aacc.edu
FLRS-336 

Heidi Rayner, nurse mentor/retention specialist/assistant professor
410-777-2423
hlrayner@aacc.edu
FLRS-424 

Kaycee Rump, assistant professor
410-777-7022
klrump@aacc.edu
FLRS-402 

Alice Stephens, associate professor
410-777-7333
apstephens@aacc.edu
FLRS-436 

Dawn Teeple, associate professor
410-777-7074
dmteeple@aacc.edu
FLRS-334 

Rebecca Tolley, associate professor
410-777-7108
rjtolley@aacc.edu
ANXA-105 

Deborah Tolliver, associate professor
410-777-7374
dltolliver@aacc.edu
FLRS-326 

Ellyn Woodzelle, assistant professor
410-777-7092
epwalton@aacc.edu
FLRS-124C 

Shawn Wilson, assistant professor
410-777-7060
smwilson@aacc.edu
FLRS-124 

Margaret Wyatt, assistant professor
410-777-7076
mlwyatt@aacc.edu
FLRS-436

Resources for Students

Nurse Mentor and Retention Specialist

Once you have taken that important step toward meeting your goal of success in the nursing program, the nurse mentor and retention specialist can support you with:

  • Creative study strategies.
  • Test-taking skill development.
  • Course-specific test prep session.
  • Success skill workshops.
  • Traditional (face-to-face) and online tutoring.

This program helps to meet the academic and emotional needs of AACC nursing students. The success of the AACC NMRS program is based on two measures: accessibility and content. AACC nursing students have access to the services of the NMRS, which include Success Skills Workshops, Group Study, and Individual or Group Tutoring. Please email the NMRS to schedule a meeting or learn more.

We encourage all nursing students to make use of this program, designed with you in mind, to enhance your nursing knowledge and strengthen your test-taking abilities, all while maintaining a positive outlook. The success of each AACC nursing student is what this program is all about.

For information contact Heidi Rayner, nurse mentor and retention specialist, by email, hlrayner@aacc.edu or call 410-777-2423.

Questions?

We’re here to help. 

School of Health Sciences

Health Sciences Admissions

410-777-7310

Send Email