Back to Top

Health, Fitness and Exercise Studies

students in fitness class

The mission of the Health, Fitness and Exercise Studies department is to offer students an opportunity to improve their physical, emotional, social, and intellectual wellness by offering a variety of courses and programs to meet the needs of individuals with diverse interests and abilities.


Areas and Offerings

We're proud to offer a degree and credit certifcate in the following area of study. Our department offers many health and physical education courses, as well as a personal trainer certificate.

Learn more about the Health, Fitness & Exercise Studies area of study.


Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Tiffin Bumpass, interim chair, associate professor
410-777-7263
tlbumpass@aacc.edu
GYM-222

Full-time Faculty

James Fontaine, associate professor
410-777-2303
jjfontaine@aacc.edu
GYM-224

Deborah Hammond, assistant professor
410-777-1166
dlhammond3@aacc.edu
GYM-218 

Patricia Hanzook, associate professor
410-777-2322
pshanzook@aacc.edu
GYM-218 

Caree Oslislo Wizenberg, assistant professor
410-777-2134
cjoslislo@aacc.edu
GYM-226

Kenneth Wolf, assistant professor
410-777-2347
klwolf@aacc.edu
GYM-216

Aquatics and Fitness Center Staff

Georgia Beth Pratt, Aquatics & Fitness Center staff
410-777-1383
gpratt@aacc.edu
POOL

Nicole Reed, Aquatics & Fitness Center staff
410-777-2454
nereed@aacc.edu
POOL

Ethan Cusimano, Aquatics & Fitness Center Staff
410-777-1182
edcusimano@aacc.edu

Scott Roddy, Aquatics & Fitness Center Staff
410-777-1181
shroddy@aacc.edu

 

Resources for Students

Health and Wellness Club

Students interested increasing their personal wellbeing and spending time with like-minded individuals can join the Health & Wellness club. Contact Deborah Hammond for details.

Student Testimonial

My professors were awesome and they taught me that I didn’t have to have it all together ...
I could grow as I go. The education and support I received from my professors enabled me to earn a full tuition scholarship to the University of Maryland, College Park. The foundation that I received made me the honor student that I am today.
Tawanna S. – alumna