Back to Top
female student in biology classroom

Science is the study of the natural world based on facts learned though experimentation and observation. As a discipline it requires curiosity, creativity, imagination and focus. It uses the tools from many other disciplines to develop, present and share ideas about the world and borrows clues from many other disciplines to identify areas for investigation. While science as a whole is divided into two interrelated sub-disciplines – physical science which focuses on physical phenomena and life science which focuses on life and living systems – collectively the areas of science improve our understanding of the world and how it works.

If living things, even life itself, fascinates you, biology may be the field for you. From plants (botony) to animals (zoology), human anatomy to nutrition this is where our understanding of the living world comes together. Plus, our area provides many environmental challenges that allow faculty and students to apply their knowledge in the field (and marshes and creeks!).  Learn more about how you can join those efforts in the Environmental Center.


Areas and Offerings

Students interested in life sciences may earn an Arts and Sciences Transfer (A.S.) degree in one of several options. Our department also offers credit certificates in the environmental sciences. Learn more about our areas of study:


Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Stephen Ailstock, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2230
smailstock@aacc.edu
CRSC-177

Full-time Faculty

Amy Allen-Chabot, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2844             
amallenchabot@aacc.edu
DRGN-239

Debra Bartlett, associate professor
410-777-1851
dbartlett@aacc.edu
DRGN-229

Paul Bushmann, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2270
pjbushmann@aacc.edu
CRSC-173                

Mickey Dehn, assistant professor
410-777-2706
mdehn1@aacc.edu
DRGN-229

Tammy Domanski, associate professor
410-777-2274
tldomanski@aacc.edu
DRGN-235

Mark Farinha, associate professor
410-777-1287
mafarinha@aacc.edu
CRSC-173

Karen Israel, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2278
keisrael@aacc.edu
DRGN-239

Susan Lamont, professor
410-777-1219
srlamont@aacc.edu
CRSC-171

Paul Larsen, Ph.D., professor
410-777-7071
pmlarsen@aacc.edu
FLRS-111

Jill Loukides, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2460
jaloukides@aacc.edu
CRSC-171

Javanika Mody, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2265
jmody@aacc.edu
DRGN-246

Jessamy Rango, professor
410-777-2335
jjrango@aacc.edu
DRGN-233

Thomas Saunders, Ph.D., assistant professor
410-777-2258
tgsaunders@aacc.edu
DRGN-229

Gregory Schrader, associate professor
410-777-1216
grschrader@aacc.edu
DRGN-244

Carol Veil, professor
410-777-2848
cbveil@aacc.edu
DRGN-235

Benjamin Weibell, professor
410-777-2845
bjweibell@aacc.edu
DRGN-233

Technical Staff

Eileen Davids, technical assistant
Environmental Center
410-777-2263
emdavids@aacc.edu
CRSC-179

Kathy Durham, technical specialist
Biology
410-777-2466
kjdurham@aacc.edu
CRSC-178A

Philippe (Phil) Espitallier, technical specialist
Biology
410-777-2997
pjespitallier@aacc.edu
GBTC-304

Shelley Greenhouse, technical specialist
Biology
410-777-2215
ssgreenhouse@aacc.edu
DRGN-104

Kendel Hannon, technical specialist
Biology
410-777-1977
kmhannon@aacc.edu
AMIL-207

Maury Hutchens, technical specialist
Biology
410-777-1254
mhutchens@aacc.edu
DRGN-003

Michael Norman, laboratory manager
Biology
410-777-2554
mhutchens@aacc.edu
DRGN-112

Ryan Saylor, technical specialist
410-777-1268
DRGN-003

Instructional Coordinator for Science & Technology

Kelli McBride
410-777-2281
kkmcbride@aacc.edu
DRGN-245

Office Staff

Anthony Anderson, program assistant
410-777-2260
akanderson@aacc.edu
DRGN-238

Debbie Taylor, evening program assistant
410-777-2260
dmtaylor5@aacc.edu
DRGN-238

Debra Tribble, office manager
410-777-2643
dbtribble@aacc.edu
DRGN-237

Resources for Students

All students taking courses within the Science departments are encouraged to use the many resources we have available to help them toward the successful completion of their science course requirements.

Science Computer Lab

Located in Dragun, Room 120 (410-777-6370), the Science Computer Lab has about 20 computers equipped with software to support a variety of science courses. Internet access is also available. You may use these computers during Computer Lab open hours, when a lab technician is present.

Open hours for fall and spring terms:

Monday-Thursday
9 a.m.-9 p.m.

Friday
9 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

Saturday
9 a.m.-1 p.m.

Help with Course Content

  • Anatomy and Chemistry Models in Truxal Library (Arnold campus).
  • Science Tutoring Center - in DRGN 5, staffed by Science faculty.
  • Biology Open Labs - staffed by Science faculty.
  • Online Science Tutoring Center - in Canvas, staffed by Science faculty.
  • Supplemental Instruction (SI) - student-led tutoring. 

Biology and Environmental Club

The Biology and Environmental Club is a place for those passionate about the life sciences to grow, learn, and experience biology together. We do various events related to the sciences such as field trips, guest speakers, and on campus projects.

Environmental Center

Led by Director, Dr. M. Stephen Ailstock, the Environmental Center at AACC supports the college's mission through applied research projects designed and led by faculty to address local environmental necessities. Students have the opportunity to participate in these projects through collaborative work that assists in the development of solutions to a variety of contemporary environmental problems. Maryland has been described as America in miniature because of its great diversity of natural resources. The types of environmental challenges confronting Maryland's people, government, industries, and civic organizations are very similar to those confronting several areas of the country.  

Learn more about the Environmental Center.

Field Trips

Several of our courses regularly have field trips as part of the curriculum.  For example, each fall & spring semester, Oceanography, Meteorology, Earth-Space Science, & Environmental Science students are given the opportunity to participate in hands-on activities during 3-hour educational cruises on a skipjack or a schooner sailing vessel. These cruises are coordinated through the Living Classrooms Foundation and usually conducted in Baltimore Inner Harbor. Students participate in several activities onboard the sailing vessels which include: raising & lowering the sails, trawling for fish, taking water quality measurements, deploying a plankton net, & investigating oyster anatomy. In addition students will be exposed to interesting stories and landmarks surrounding Baltimore’s Inner Harbor including historical Fort McHenry.