Back to Top

African American Studies, American Studies, Anthropology, Future, Geography and Sociology

Female student in class discussion

Do you ever wonder how people can be so different from one another or how parts of the country and world can be so distinct? The field of Anthropology looks at people while the field of Sociology looks at societies. In this department, too, you’ll find American Studies, African-American Studies, Geography and Future Studies, all of which provide different perspectives on culture and society. If you’re drawn to understanding people, places or even considering what the future might look like, you’ll want to explore the many courses and programs that make up this department.


Areas of Study

AACC offers courses in all of the areas above. Students interested in pursuing a bachelor’s degree in one of these areas should talk to their advisor about the Transfer Studies or Liberal Arts, Arts and Sciences Transfer A.A. degrees. AACC also offers a degree in Sociology.

Learn more about the Sociology area of study.


Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Philip Terry-Smith, Ph.D., assistant professor
410-777-1321
pbterrysmith@aacc.edu

Full-time Faculty

Gina Finelli, Ph.D., associate professor
Sociology
CRSC 158
410-777-2386
gmfinelli@aacc.edu 

Thomas Karwoski, associate professor
Geography
CRSC 144
410-777-2833
tjkarwoski@aacc.edu 

Kathleen Krueger, Ph.D., assistant professor
Sociology
CRSC 158
410-777-2397
kekrueger@aacc.edu 

Takamitsu “Taka” Ono, assistant professor
Sociology
CRSC 140
410-777-7130
tono@aacc.edu

Erica Yeager, Ph.D., associate professor
Sociology
CRSC 156
410-777-7178
eoyeager@aacc.edu

Office Staff

Mary Greene, office manager
CRSC 131
410-777-2649
megreene@aacc.edu 

Sue Yard, program assistant
CRSC 131
410-777-2430
syard@aacc.edu 

Questions?

We're here to help.

School of Liberal Arts
Culture and Society

Phil Terry-Smith, chair

410-777-2369

Send Email