Back to Top

Astronomy, Chemistry, Physics, Physical Science, and Sustainable Energy Systems

students in science lab

Science is the study of the natural world based on facts learned though experimentation and observation. As a discipline it requires curiosity, creativity, imagination and focus. It uses the tools from many other disciplines to develop, present and share ideas about the world and borrows clues from many other disciplines to identify areas for investigation. While science as a whole is divided into two interrelated sub-disciplines – physical science which focuses on physical phenomena and life science which focuses on life and living systems – collectively the areas of science improve our understanding of the world and how it works. If the physical world, whether at a micro-level or beyond this planet, fascinates you, one of the many sciences that make up physical science may be right for you.


Areas and Offerings

Students interested in the physical sciences may earn an Arts and Sciences Transfer (A.S.) degree in one of several options.

Learn more about the physical science area of study.


Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Kirsten Casey, Ph.D., professor
410-777-2062
kacasey@aacc.edu
DRGN-240

Full-time Faculty

Jason Barbour, professor
Physical Science
410-777-1217            
jpbarbour@aacc.edu
DRGN-244

Robert Carp, assistant professor
Chemistry
410-777-2264
rtcarp@aacc.edu
DRGN-231

Dan Ferandez, professor
Physical Science
410-777-2031
dvferandez@aacc.edu
DRGN-243               

Eric Fons, associate professor
Physics
410-777-2154
ewfons@aacc.edu
DRGN-234

Beth Hufnagel, Ph.D., professor
Astronomy
410-777-2271
brhufnagel@aacc.edu
DRGN-246

Sridharan Iyengar, Ph.D., professor
Chemistry
410-777-2266
ssiyengar@aacc.edu
DRGN-241

Kristine Miller, associate professor
Chemistry
410-777-2841
kemiller4@aacc.edu
DRGN-232

Anthony Santorelli, Ph.D., assistant professor
Physical Science
410-777-1484
asantorelli@aacc.edu
DRGN-243

Shyamala Sivalingham, assistant professor
Chemistry
410-777-2260
ssivalingam@aacc.edu
DRGN-241

Maureen Sherer, professor
Chemistry
410-777-2261
masherer@aacc.edu
DRGN-231

Lynn Tracey, Ph.D., professor
Chemistry
410-777-2846
ljtracey@aacc.edu
DRGN-232

Timothy Shivok, Assistant Professor
Physics
tjshivok@aacc.edu
DRGN-234

Technical Staff

Meranda Byers, physical science laboratory assistant
410-777-2272
mfbyers@aacc.edu
CRSC-188B

Philippe (Phil) Espitallier, chemistry technical specialist
410-777-2997
pjespitallier@aacc.edu
GBTC-304

Thomas Gallagher, chemistry and physics technical specialist
410-777-1183
tmgallagher1@aacc.edu
DRGN-200

Kendel Hannon, chemistry technical specialist
410-777-1977
kmhannon@aacc.edu
AMIL-404A

Deborah Reeder, chemistry laboratory manager
410-777-2224
dmreeder@aacc.edu
DRGN-211

Thomas Wilbur, physics laboratory manager
410-777-2881
tmwilbur@aacc.edu
DRGN-201

Yolanda Kumm, chemistry and physics technical specialist
ykumm@aacc.edu
DRGN-200

Instructional Coordinator for Science & Technology

Kelli McBride
410-777-2281
kkmcbride@aacc.edu 
DRGN-245

Office Staff

Anthony Anderson, program assistant
410-777-2260
akanderson@aacc.edu
DRGN-238

Debbie Taylor, evening program assistant
410-777-2260
dmtaylor5@aacc.edu
DRGN-238

Debra Tribble, office manager
410-777-2643
dbtribble@aacc.edu
DRGN-237

Resources for Students

All students taking courses within the Science departments are encouraged to use the many resources we have available to help them toward the successful completion of their science course requirements.

Science Computer Lab

Located in of the Dragun, Room 120 (410-777-6370), the Science Computer Lab has about 20 computers equipped with software to support a variety of science courses.  Internet access is also available.  You may use these computers during Computer Lab open hours, when a lab technician is present.

Open hours for fall and spring terms:

Monday - Thursday
9 a.m.-9 p.m.

Friday
9 a.m.-1:30 p.m.

Saturday
9 a.m.-1 p.m.

Help with Course Content

  • Anatomy and Chemistry Models in Truxal Library (Arnold campus).
  • Science Tutoring Center - in Dragun, Room 5, staffed by Science faculty.
  • Biology Open Labs - staffed by Science faculty.
  • Online Science Tutoring Center - in Canvas, staffed by Science faculty.
  • Supplemental Instruction (SI) - student-led tutoring

Astronomy Club

We have observing nights once a month at the Arnold Campus observatory. We also have annual speakers and events as well as we do a lot of cool research. Come join us!  Join this fun-loving group of people who come together to learn about the happenings in the astronomy community and explore the many facets of the sky with our 14” and radio telescopes.  Meetings are open to the public. They begin at 7:30 p.m  and are located at the observatory in the back of parking lots A & B of the Arnold Campus. We also welcome families and children to attend every meeting.

Learn more about the Astronomy Club in The Nest.

Chemistry Club

The Chemistry Club promotes student awareness of and interest in chemistry through campus activities, educational activities, and outreach events. 

Learn more about the Chemistry Club in The Nest.

Field Trips

Several of our courses regularly have field trips as part of the curriculum.  For example, each fall & spring semester, Oceanography, Meteorology, Earth-Space Science, & Environmental Science students are given the opportunity to participate in hands-on activities during three-hour educational cruises on a skipjack or a schooner sailing vessel. These cruises are coordinated through the Living Classrooms Foundation and usually conducted in Baltimore Inner Harbor. Students participate in several activities onboard the sailing vessels which include: raising & lowering the sails, trawling for fish, taking water quality measurements, deploying a plankton net, & investigating oyster anatomy. In addition students will be exposed to interesting stories and landmarks surrounding Baltimore’s Inner Harbor including historical Fort McHenry.

Questions?