Back to Top
professor with students with server cabinet

By reading this, you’re likely using a device and accessing data needing care and protection. Would you like to learn how to prevent and detect threats and vulnerabilities, and how to respond to the ones that slip through the cracks?

AACC’s Cybersecurity, Networking and Digital Forensics programs teach students about threats and vulnerabilities, prevention, detection, response and security management surrounding information technology.  Both seasoned information technology students and newcomers to the field can get started through AACC’s Department of Cybersecurity, Networking and Digital Forensics. AACC holds the reputation of being the first community college in the country to be certified by the National Security Agency (NSA).


Areas and Offerings

We're proud to be recognized as a leader in cybersecurity education. As such, the department offers an associate degree with three concentrations and eight certificates. Courses, events and clubs provide students hands-on experience with current tools and techniques, all guided by faculty with experience in the field.

Learn more about our area of study:


Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Kasia Taylor, associate professor
410-777-7096
CALT-250
ktaylor2@aacc.edu

Full-time Faculty

Dawn Blanche, assistant professor
410-777-7055
CALT-256
drblanche@aacc.edu

Bryan Deehring, instructional specialist
410-777-2133
CALT-266
brdeehring@aacc.edu

Paul Derdul, professor
410-777-2365
CALT-202
pderdul@aacc.edu

Laura Dozier, assistant professor
410-777-7121
CALT-338
lsdozier@aacc.edu

Kenneth Harris, instructor
410-777-7120
CALT-338
kharris1@aacc.edu

Carrie Leary, associate professor
410-777-7088
CALT-202
csleary@aacc.edu

Joseph (Max) McQuighan, associate professor
410-777-7242
CALT-348
jmmcquighan@aacc.edu

Adrian Pringle, assistant professor
410-777-2492
CALT-248
alpringle@aacc.edu

Mary Wallingsford, assistant professor
410-777-7173
CALT-248
mewallingsford@aacc.edu

Office Staff

Nancy Brown, program assistant
410-777-2442
CALT-234
nfbrown@aacc.edu

Frances Panek, program assistant
410-777-2433
CALT-234
fpanek@aacc.edu

Resources for Students

Open Lab

Assistance is available for current technology students in the Open Lab located in CALT 204. Please review the schedule posted in the doorway to see the current hours of operation.

Cyber Defense Club

This club meets to discuss topics in cybersecurity and practice their skills. All students are welcome! Club members also compete in regional and national cyber challenges. This club is supported by Cybersecurity, Networking, and Digital Forensics department faculty.

Learn more about the Cyber Defense Club in the Nest.

High Technology Crime Investigation Association, AACC Student Chapter

High Technology Crime Investigation Association (HTCIA)­student chapters foster, promote, and encourage the study of criminal investigations involving advanced technologies and security by the academic community. Membership is limited to students majoring in computer science; forensics, criminal justice, law enforcement, corrections, accounting, auditing or similar program of study with a minimum Grade Point Average (GPA) established by the International Executive Committee (IEC).

> Learn more about the ­HTCIA.

> Email the ­AACC Student Chapter of HTCIA.

Computer Science Club

This new club is an opportunity to enhance students' computer science knowledge and skills, while having fun and experimenting with current and emerging technologies. Technical demonstrations, hands-on experiences and guest speaker events are a few of the activities that this club will offer. Raspberry Pi and Arduino units are just a couple of examples of the technology that our club is currently exploring. This club is supported by the Computer Science Department faculty. 

Learn more about the Computer Science Club in the Nest.

Internships

Consider expanding your learning beyond the classroom by becoming an intern. Whether you are looking to apply learning to a career or transfer to a four-year program, internships provide valuable experience and industry contacts. For more information about Engineering internships, contact Patricia Acton, Internship and Job Developer at psacton@aacc.edu.

Job Search Assistance

Current Technology students can seek job search assistance, including resume writing and interview preparation by contacting our Internship and Job Developer, Patricia Acton at 410-777-7128 or psacton@aacc.edu

Questions?