Back to Top
person typing on laptop

Our world has become increasingly dependent on computers. As a result, skilled developers of software, web platforms, apps and databases continue to be in high demand. If that digital world inspires you, computer science may be a good department for you.

AACC computer science graduates are competent in their discipline, particularly in the areas of problem solving, technical competency and software development. Our dedicated and enthusiastic instructors work with small classes in a laboratory setting. Students receive individual attention and participate in hands-on learning.


Areas and Offerings

Our department offers three degrees with several specialization options, as well as several certificates. Learn more about our areas of study:


Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Krysten Hall, associate professor
410-777-2761
kbhall@aacc.edu
CALT-250

Full-time Faculty

Wendy Chasser, assistant professor
410-777-7081             
wchasser@aacc.edu
CALT-240 

Patricia (Trish) Gregory, professor
410-777-2372
pagregory@aacc.edu
CALT-268

Cheryl Heemstra, professor
410-777-2420
crheemstra@aacc.edu
CALT-266                  

Ruimin Hu, associate professor
410-777-7135
rhu@aacc.edu
CALT-342

Sangeeta Maheshwari, associate professor
410-777-2897
smaheshwari@aacc.edu
CALT-342 

Steven White, assistant professor
410-777-2774
shwhite@aacc.edu
CALT-260

Cindy Woods, assistant professor
410-777-7280
clwoods1@aacc.edu
CALT-256

Office Staff

Frances Panek, program assistant
410-777-2433
fpanek@aacc.edu
CALT-234 

Resources for Students

Open Lab

Assistance is available for current technology students in the Open Lab located in CALT 204. Please review the schedule posted in the doorway to see the current hours of operation.

Computer Science Club

This new club is an opportunity to enhance students' computer science knowledge and skills, while having fun and experimenting with current and emerging technologies. Technical demonstrations, hands-on experiences and guest speaker events are a few of the activities that this club will offer. Raspberry Pi and Arduino units are just a couple of examples of the technology that our club is currently exploring. This club is supported by the Computer Science department faculty.

Learn more about this club in The Nest.

Cyber Defense Club

This club meets to discuss topics in cybersecurity and practice their skills. All students are welcome! Club members also compete in regional and national cyber challenges. This club is supported by Cybersecurity, Networking, and Digital Forensics department faculty.

Learn more about this club in The Nest.

Internships

Consider expanding your learning beyond the classroom by becoming an intern. Whether you are looking to apply learning to a career or transfer to a four-year program, internships provide valuable experience and industry contacts. For more information about internships, contact Patricia Acton, Internship and Job Developer at psacton@aacc.edu.

Job Search Assistance

Current technology students can seek job search assistance, including resume writing and interview preparation by contacting our Internship and Job Developer, Patricia Acton at 410-777-7128 or psacton@aacc.edu

Questions?

We’re here to help.

Computer Science

Krysten Hall, chair

410-777-2761

Send Email