Back to Top
Computers on a desk

Computer Information Systems (CIS) serves as the bridge that links business with technology. Students in this area develop the technical and people skills enabling them to excel in information systems roles in industry and government.


Areas and Offerings

The opportunity to serve on the technology front-line is within your reach. AACC’s Applied Sciences degree and certificate options in Computer Information Systems prepare you for launching into one of the most in-demand tech roles. Learn more about our areas of study:


Faculty and Staff

Department Chair

Steven White, professor
410-777-2774
shwhite@aacc.edu
CALT-258

Full-time Faculty

Penny Foster, professor
410-777-2522
plfoster@aacc.edu
CALT-336

Joselle Gatrell, associate professor
410-777-2497             
jgatrell@aacc.edu
CALT-260

Susanne Markowski, professor
410-777-1144
srmarkowski@aacc.edu
CALT-240

Kelly Sell, professor
410-777-2033
kksell@aacc.edu
CALT-268                 

Harold Waterman, professor
410-777-2143
hwaterman@aacc.edu
CALT-336

Office Staff

Frances Panek, program assistant
410-777-2433
fpanek@aacc.edu
CALT-234

Resources for Students

Open Lab

Assistance is available for current technology students in the Open Lab located in CALT 204. Please review the schedule posted in the doorway to see the current hours of operation.

Computer Science Club

This new club is an opportunity to enhance students' computer science knowledge and skills, while having fun and experimenting with current and emerging technologies. Technical demonstrations, hands-on experiences and guest speaker events are a few of the activities that this club will offer. Raspberry Pi and Arduino units are just a couple of examples of the technology that our club is currently exploring. This club is supported by the Computer Science Department faculty. The club's faculty adviser is Wendy Chasser, and you can contact her for more information.

Cyber Defense Club

This club meets to discuss topics in cybersecurity and practice their skills. All students are welcome! Club members also compete in regional and national cyber challenges. This club is supported by Cybersecurity, Networking, and Digital Forensics Department faculty.

Internships

Consider expanding your learning beyond the classroom by becoming an intern. Whether you are looking to apply learning to a career or transfer to a four-year program, internships provide valuable experience and industry contacts. For more information about internships, contact Patricia Acton, Internship and Job Developer at psacton@aacc.edu.

Job Search Assistance

Current technology students can seek job search assistance, including resume writing and interview preparation by contacting our Internship and Job Developer, Patricia Acton at 410-777-7128 or psacton@aacc.edu.

Questions?

We’re here to help.

Computer Information Systems

Steven White, chair

410-777-2774

Send Email