Back to Top
AACC’s Student Achievement and Success Program team is committed to increasing the academic success, retention, graduation and transfer of students who traditionally may have more barriers and challenges to overcome in order to realize their goals.

They oversee the college’s military and veteran resources, special programs for African-American males, our summer transition programs for African-American and Hispanic Youth and initiatives targeted to students who are first in their families to attend college. Stop by their offices on the first floor of the Truxal Library.


Our People

Janice D. Watley

Student Achievement and Success Program director
410-777-2530
jdwatley@aacc.edu

 

Arlene Bayron

Student Success and Retention advisor
410-777-2530
410-777-1821 AMIL
abayron1@aacc.edu

Advises students whose last name begin with A-J and who attend the AACC Arundel Mills location.

Coordinates SASP/25 program, Summer Bridge.

 

Samuel Cordero-Puchales

Adelante Hispanic Summer Bridge coordinator
410-777-2530
scorderopuchale@aacc.edu

Specializes in working with Hispanic students

 

Harlan Harrell

Veterans retention advisor
410-777-2047 Arnold
410-777-1821 AMIL
hharrell@aacc.edu 

A veteran himself, Harrell is the initial point of contact for new and continuing active military, veterans, reservists and their family members.

 

Jill Z. Harris

SASP assistant
410-777-2530
jzharris@aacc.edu

Supports all SASP and related initiatives.

 

Kat A. Schorr

Student Success and Retention advisor
410-777-2137
kschorr@aacc.edu

Provides advising and career counselling

Serves as a secondary resource for new and continuing active military, veterans, reservists and their family members.

 

Leon C. Thomas III

Student Success and Retention advisor
410-777-2530
lthomas20@aacc.edu

Oversees mentoring and the Black Male Initiative

Advises students whose last name begin with K-Z