Back to Top
AACC’s Student Achievement and Success Program (SASP) team is committed to increasing the academic success, retention, graduation and transfer of students. Students are empowered to be successful, overcome challenges, and address obstacles through academic coaching and instructor-facilitated small lab settings. 

We welcome all first generation, multi-generational, and non-traditional students of all cultural identities to join SASP. Our SASP program oversees the college’s military and veteran resources, and facilitates summer transition programs for students looking to spring-board their college experiences. Stop by the SASP office on the first floor of the Truxal Library in Arnold.


Our People

Janice D. Watley

Student Achievement and Success Program director
410-777-2530
jdwatley@aacc.edu

Arlene Bayron

Student Success and Retention advisor
410-777-1161 Arnold
410-777-1821 AMIL
abayron1@aacc.edu

  • Advises students on the Arnold and Arundel Mills campuses.
  • Coordinates the Summer Bridge program.

Amberdawn Cheatham

First Year Experience (FYE) coordinator 
410-777-1315
acheatham@aacc.edu 

  • Serves as the advisor for First Year Experience students.
  • Coordinates the First Year Experience program and the FYE Summer Bridge program.
  • Assists with the SASP/North County High School collaborative.

Samuel Cordero-Puchales

Adelante Hispanic Summer Bridge coordinator
410-777-2530
scorderopuchale@aacc.edu

  • Specializes in working with Hispanic students.

Harlan Harrell

Military/Veteran Resource Center (MVRC) Program Manager
Military/Veteran Student Success and Retention advisor
410-777-2047 Arnold
410-777-1821 AMIL
hharrell@aacc.edu 

  • Serves as an initial point of contact for new and continuing active military, veterans, reservists and their family members.
  • Advises military/veteran students on the Arnold and Arundel Mills campuses.
  • Manages AACC's Military/Veteran Resource Center on the Arnold campus, LBRY 112.

 

Jill Z. Harris

SASP assistant
410-777-2530
jzharris@aacc.edu

  • Supports all SASP and related initiatives.



Kat A. Schorr

Student Success and Retention advisor
410-777-2137
kschorr@aacc.edu

  • Advises SASP and military/veteran students and their families on the Arnold campus.
  • Provides supplemental support for the Military/Veteran Resource Center on the Arnold campus, LBRY 112.



Leon C. Thomas, III

Student Success and Retention advisor
410-777-2549
lthomas20@aacc.edu

  • Oversees the Black Male Initiative program.
  • Oversees mentors in SASP.
  • Assists with the SASP/North County High School collaborative.
  • Advises students on the Arnold campus.